A stranger in my own home, Mt. Bidawan.

I was raised in Poblacion, Itogon and lived here for almost 21 years already. But then, I failed to visit and scale its beauties. It felt shameful, considering the fact that other people from nearby municipalities and provinces have already been there more than twice. I am pertaining to Mt. Bidawan. It is just more or less 10 kilometers. near my residence. One time, some friends invited me to have some trek at Mt. Bidawan in celebration of the Philippine  Independence Day. They were surprised that it was my first time to ascend the mountain. No doubt, I became a stranger to my own home.

June 12, 2012. One foggy morning when the dark clouds started drizzle. There was a feeling of hesitation as the rain begun to prove its existence.  As much as I didn’t like to disappoint the people who extended the invitation, I didn’t like to dash my hope and wish to climb Mt. Bidawan. Getting out from the feeling of indecisiveness, I went to meet the group.

The trek started with a ride from the Municipal Hall to Sitio Mambolo. Since it is the Independence Day, we decided that the trekking be coupled with tree planting activity. With the downpour of water, and the weight of the seedlings we were carrying, and the steepness of the route, the first part  was really tough and tiring. Not to mention the big flies, mosquitoes and blood sucking insects bothering my already bothered skin.

After the scaling of the inclined part, we were now enjoying the flat and unelevated area. When the rain has stopped and the sun is slowly revealing itself, I realized, the rain is not the villain after all. I was told that newly planted trees need water to settle the soil and eliminate air.

Treading the trail near the summit, I saw the fruits of effort of the mountain climbers and outdoor enthusiasts who came years ago. I noticed that the pine, and mahogany trees they planted were now evergreen, young,  and 1-2 meters high. I emptied my mind and created some mental freedom a I started to pray that the trees I planted will grow huge, splendid, leafy and green.

The summit is not the summit that I expected where you can have a 180 degrees view below. Well, at least, there were trees. 🙂

After managing to cross the bridge, it was already high noon when we were descending. It was really hot. Good thing, we’ll be having some dip and soak in the 1300 L Swimming Pools.

That was my first climb in the mountain at my neighborhood.

I had my second climb at Mt. Bidawan last September 10, 2012. It was a birthday climb of an old friend, and when I say “old”, I mean his age. Kidding. 😀 This time, there was no rain, just the sun. And once again, I met new people and got myself a reunion with the beauties of nature.

For the nth time, I have proved God’s brilliance and wondrous creations.

Till next time.  @.@

2 thoughts on “A stranger in my own home, Mt. Bidawan.

Leave a Comment