Learning from Mt. Ugo

I was given a special task to help promote my hometown’s tourism activities. Before committing to this duty, I was just an ordinary citizen of our community. Good thing, I always loved traveling, trying out new dare and meeting people. It wasn’t that hard to adjust to the expectations of this undertaking.

The task introduced me to experiences worth remembering. First is the Mt. Ugo Summer Climb.

Taking some rest

10th Mt. Ugo Summerclimb was literally my first major climb.  I have never tried joining a climb with more or less 200 participants. What I usually had is just some fun trek with friends, or a long walk with some family members.

The climb’s itinerary sums up to 2 days, and 3 nights. I thought this would be a long journey. Luckily, I was part of the team who was organizing the event. I didn’t have to worry about our tents, foods, and accommodations.

Scaling Mt. Ugo

Along the journey, there were some pointers worth treasuring in this climb. It would be boring scaling mountains alone. Earphones with your favourite music genre wouldn’t compare to the stories, jokes and experiences other people will share to you while striding the mountain slopes. The 3D movie pictures you have in your iPad, iPhone, and phones have nothing to say to the views and sights of Mt. Ugo. Truly, a nature’s true magnificence.  Yes, we have thousands of friends in Facebook. But do we even know how they really look like? The friends I met during the Mt. Ugo climb are real people; more than the faces, I know their stories.

When we arrived in the 1st Camp, everybody was tired. I didn’t have the strength to mingle with the other participants. All I wanted was to rest my exhausted knees and have a goodnight sleep. I knew, I had to prepare myself for the next day will be tougher. The Summit Assault.

I had in my back pack a thick and heavy jacket. I doubted my climbing skill and capability back then. So to lighten my cargo I actually got rid of that jacket and gave it to the locals.

Distance away to the summit, I was really physically tired. But my mind believed that it would just be a piece of cake. I was that confident back then. One participant passed by and asked, “Are you OK? Don’t dare giving up; we’re just few meters away to the top.” And he was right.

At the Summit

Reaching the summit is the best feeling I ever had. It felt like heaven. Cool breeze touching my skin, and suddenly it didn’t feel like I just walked thousands of steps. The feeling is remarkable.

Though, I regret not staying longer in the summit, after all, we went up there to appreciate the exquisiteness of the view of the summit. I needed to be back down quickly to prepare for the activities in the second camp.

With the 200+ participants, I wasn’t able to have the chance to meet them all. There were just so many groups. I was busy helping in the preparations of the climb.

It’s not every day that I join climbs, so I learned that next time, I would embrace every bit of it. Because too bad, you can’t repeat bygone days.  *.*

4 thoughts on “Learning from Mt. Ugo

Leave a Comment