The Adventurer goes to Purgatory

Would you actually believe if I say I went to Purgatory? 🙂

I really did. It was indeed a beautiful mountain, it was called Mt. Purgatory.

When they told me we were going to Mount Purgatory, it gave me goosebumps, I didn’t know if i would be scared, or what. I didn’t know what to expect. I thought that would be interesting so I just prepped and packed my bags, and said, leggo!

This climb, I wasn’t part of the organizing team. I was more of the participant. We arrived at the 1st Camp by car. Others did it by foot. Though which they thought was a bit ridiculous. Anyway, we felt welcomed as organizers of the climb and other participants displayed sweet smiles as we exchanged greetings. We pitched our tents, and prepared our belongings. Then they provided us with our dinner. Compliments to the team, good food. We then had this social night where we had some dancing, singing and some shots. And at 9 PM, I slept. I thought, It would be more fun tomorrow.

The next morning, coffee tasted best because it was cold. We took down our tents, had our breakfast, got washed up, and started walking. The sun is brightly rising as the wind rushes to my skin. And as we continue striding to the long mossy forest, I realized how fascinating and preserved their mountains are. I actually didn’t worry getting sun burned after all, the forest already provided me shade.

Aside from admiring the picturesque scenes around, I also came across with some of the participants. I had the chance to be engaged in lots of conversation. I was surprised, some of the participants also joined Mt. Ugo. I didn’t even recall their faces.

The mossy forest is a beauty. The green moss covers the pathway, it’s like walking in a carpet. The richness of the moss brings drizzle to the place. And it’s cool.  I can see various vines and trees  twisted to each other.  Not to mention the wild flowers and orchids thriving in the trees.

We arrived at the 2nd Camp and we were gladly welcomed by the locals. Some sell refreshments and snacks, others also had this necklace made of wild seeds. Which was really nice.

The night started with some cultural dancing. I was really surprised how varied their dance is. Some participants also joined the community dancing. But the dance I liked most is the Monkey Dance. It was executed really well that made it cool and funny.

I considered the last day the toughest. After walking through the misty and refreshing mountains, we were headed to this very hot, dusty and winding road. We were tired and the bags we were carrying became heavier in every step we made. By that time, we were running out of water. It was really difficult. Luckily, we had the car fetched us. We were spared for the remaining meters of hell. Anyway, thanks for that experience, I wouldn’t consider this climb an adventure if it came too easy. Hehe.

It was really fun walking with new people. I met this group of adventurers and outdoor enthusiasts. Most of them were a decade older than me. That made their pieces of advice and lessons in life counted the most. They were lovely and nice people. Some I enjoyed talking with. And to this date, they are good friends to me.

Mt. Purgatory is a real experience. Thank God for giving me the chance to be part of it. 🙂

Let’s dance the monkey dance

4 thoughts on “The Adventurer goes to Purgatory

Leave a Comment