Nearing 22, and I’m still a wishful thinker.

I’m freakin’ nearing 22. And I’m kinda scared. I remember back then when I was 15, I was a writer in our school paper. I had this column entitled, Wishful Thinking.

My first article was “Aging 15, Growing Mature.”

I wrote about my wish: how I wish I could turn back time and live the uncomplicated life. And so, my article went like this:

When I was younger, I already wanted to become mature; to be someone who carries herself well. That is, to do things with poise and wear attractive dresses. Now I have grown a little older, I am wishing to be young again, back to the time when I didn’t know my ABC’s and 123’s. I realized that being a kid, I was innocent, honest, and free. Now that I am in my teenage  years, I become more aware of the things around me. I am not even free to do what I want to do. I cannot stay out for so long outside the house unless I have the permission of my parents. Sometimes I have to make excuses and tell lies.

I just turned 15 and I start to feel how difficult life is. I, who belong to the graduating class experience many hardships. We often have many assignments, quizzes, reports, and even research papers. Moreover, if I got lower score, I think of giving up. I am falling in to my knees and I cry. But, I see to it that no one sees it. At my age, I worry about many things. How much more if I turn 28 or 30?

Back when I was just a little girl, I didn’t have to worry about pimples, my skin, my hair, my physical appearance. I did not have to worry if we have money or what. I did not have to think about the problems of the country and the world because I was too young to involve myself in troubles. Now, I even have to worry about my future. What will I take in college? Maybe I’ll go for Nursing because it’s in demand or I”ll go for AB English or Political Science to School of Laws. It is uncertain. I might raise my own family. It is also possible to find myself in a Sister’s Convent.

Childhood is much more enjoyable especially if I think of the chocolates, birthday gifts, balloons, and new toys. It is a lot different when we grow a little older because we have to help think of solutions to problems.

How I wish I have a time machine and travel back to the past because I just want to enjoy playing with my friends. In our world today, I do not want to grow old because as I mature, I worry more the things around me, and things become more complicated.  

Today, I still wish the same wish. But mind you, I don’t regret any single moment of the past, all I wish is to go back and savor the feelings of innocence, simplicity, honesty, and freedom again.  @.@

One thought on “Nearing 22, and I’m still a wishful thinker.

Leave a Comment