Why Hanging Bridge Freaks me out!

My heart beats more rapidly, like I am being chased by a lion. My knees start to tremble. I’m perspiring like hell. And I think I’m gonna cry. That is how I illustrate my feeling when I cross hanging bridges.

When friends invite me to treks, climbs, and other adventures, I always wanted to ask if there are bridges to cross. But I don’t. I always kept this fear. And I always pretended that everything’s OK.

I have always perceived hanging bridges to be tremendously high, extremely narrow, produced from century old woods, and strange looking and antiquated ropes, with missing planks. Don’t forget the fact that if I fall, I would be severely injured, or eaten by carnivorous fishes, or dead, carried away by the strong current of the river.  Did it sound over the top? I don’t know. Unfortunately, it felt that way.

Bridge at Tabu, Dalupirip, Itogon, Benguet

Just the look of it gives me the chills. And I have so many theories why hanging bridges scare the crap out of me. I would just be mentioning my top two.

First, I have this “Titanic Theory.” – I think that the bridge will split in two. And I would be there holding onto the other dilapidated end of the bridge, helpless. Or I would just fall into the river, screaming, while fishes and other wild eating creatures are excited to have me down there. Or I would be lifeless in a minute as I hit my head in the rocks in the bottom.

Second is my “Trampoline Theory.”- Do you have friends who have nothing to do but piss you off? I have a lot. Usually, when I cross bridges, I have with me these devilish people who can’t stop jumping and jumping as if we are enjoying competitive trampoline in Olympic Games! Because of that, I think that in any second I can be kicked off or thrown out of the bridge! The worst is you see your friends at the end of the bridge, who can’t stop laughing as if it’s the world’s best joke.

I have been fighting this fear ever since. I don’t want to miss fascinating adventures just because I had this lame and nonsense fear.   SO  BRING IT ON! 

Leave a Comment